# Health and Social Care Committee

Meeting Venue:	Committee Room 3 - Senedd	Cynulliad Cenedlaethol	
Meeting date:	Wednesday, 24 April 2013	<b>Cymru</b> National Assembly for <b>Wales</b>	
Meeting time:	09:30 - 10:28		
This meeting can be viewed http://www.senedd.tv/archiv	l on Senedd TV at: <u>veplayer.jsf?v=en_400000_24_04_2013&amp;t=5&amp;l=en</u>		
Concise Minutes:			
Assembly Members:	Lynne Neagle (Chair) Rebecca Evans William Graham Ann Jones Elin Jones Darren Millar Gwyn R Price Jenny Rathbone (In place of Vaughan Gething) Lindsay Whittle Kirsty Williams Mark Drakeford Mick Antoniw		
Witnesses:			
Committee Staff:	Gwyn Griffiths (Legal Advisor) Steve George (Clerk) Olga Lewis (Deputy Clerk)		

#### TRANSCRIPT

View the meeting transcript.

# 1. Election of the Temporary Chair

1.1 As apologies were received from the Chair of the Committee Vaughan Gething AM, Lynne Neagle AM was elected Temporary Chair

## 2. Introductions, apologies and substitutions

2.1 Apologies were received from Vaughan Gething AM (Jenny Rathbone AM substituted) and Mick Antoniw AM (Ann Jones AM substituted).

# **3.** Recovery of Medical Costs for Asbestos Diseases (Wales) Bill: Stage 2 - Consideration of Amendments

3.1 In accordance with Standing Order 26.21, the Committee disposed of amendments to the Bill in the following order:

Sections 1 – 21 Schedule 1

3.2 The Committee considered and disposed of the following amendments:

Section 1:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to.

#### Section 2:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 3:

Amendment 9 (Darren Millar)

For	Against	Abstain		
Elin Jones Lindsay Whittle Kirsty Williams	Lynne Neagle Rebecca Evans Gwyn Price Jenny Rathbone Ann Jones	William Graham Darren Millar		
3	5	2		
Amendment 9 was not agreed to.				

#### Amendment 10 (Darren Millar)

For	Against	Abstain		
William Graham Darren Millar	Lynne Neagle Rebecca Evans Gwyn Price Jenny Rathbone Ann Jones	Elin Jones Lindsay Whittle Kirsty Williams		
2	5	3		
Amendment 10 was not agreed to.				

Amendment 3 (Mark Drakeford) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

# Section 4:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to.

# Section 5:

Amendment 11 (Mark Drakeford)

For	Against	Abstain
	Lynne Neagle	
	Rebecca Evans	
	Gwyn Price	
William Graham	Jenny Rathbone	
Darren Millar	Ann Jones	
	Elin Jones	
	Lindsay Whittle	
	Kirsty Williams	
2	8	0
Amendment 11 was not agreed to.		

# Section 6:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 7:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. **Section 8**:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 9:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 10:

Amendment 4 (Mark Drakeford) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

Section 11:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 12:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 13:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 14:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to.

Section 15:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to. Section 16:

Amendment 12 (Darren Millar)

For	Against	Abstain	
	Lynne Neagle		
William Graham	Rebecca Evans		
Darren Millar	Gwyn Price		
Elin Jones	Jenny Rathbone		
Lindsay Whittle	Ann Jones		
	Kirsty Williams		
4	6	0	
Amendment 12 was not agreed to.			

Amendment 1 (Mick Antoniw) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

Amendment 6 (Mark Drakeford) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

Amendment 5 (Mark Drakeford) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

Amendment 13 (Darren Millar) was withdrawn.

# Section 17:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to.

# Section 18:

Amendment 7 (Mark Drakeford) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

Amendment 2 (Mick Antoniw) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

## Section 19:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to.

# Section 20:

Amendment 8 (Mark Drakeford) was agreed to, in accordance with Standing Order 17.34 (i).

Amendment 14 (Darren Millar) was withdrawn.

#### Section 21:

No amendments were tabled to this section, therefore it was deemed agreed to.

## Schedule 1:

No amendments were tabled to Schedule 1, therefore it was deemed agreed to.

3.3 The Chair advised that all sections of the Bill had been agreed by the Committee and as all amendments had been disposed of, Stage 3 will commence from 25 April 2013.

3.4 Under standing order 26.27, Members agreed that the Member in Charge should prepare a revised Explanatory Memorandum.

#### 4. Papers to note

4.1 Paper: HSC(4)-13-13 - Paper 1 - Letter to the Chair from Mick Antoniw AM

4a.1 The Committee noted the letter from the Member in Charge to the Chair providing a supplementary note in response to recommendation 5 of the Committee's Stage 1 report on the Bill.